I’ve always been of the opinion that there’s a great comic book out there for everyone. I love making recommendations to folks – especially new readers – and helping them grow a love for one of America’s unique forms of literature.

So, let me tell you what to read this week.

The New York Four Trade Paperback

New York Four Trade Paperback

Writer: Wood, Brian

Artist: Kelly, Ryan

Cover Artist: Kelly, Ryan

From Previews:

Worlds collide when four young women begin college at the prestigious New York University. Shy, literate Riley, overachieving but naive Lona, laid-back West Coaster Ren, and working-class girl Merissa claim newfound freedom living in the big city. But that freedom comes at a price: roommate drama, mysterious love interests, school troubles, and family conflicts. Welcome to adulthood! This edition collects the entire series under one cover for the first time. o From the New York Times best-selling duo of Brian Wood and Ryan Kelly! ‘Superbly told.’-School Library Journal ‘This graphic novel will delight readers on the cusp of discovering their own independence.’-Booklist

Ladies, this is a great mini-series.  The four women are compelling characters, and their journey through young adulthood is well-written.  Also, there is a follow-up mini-series called The New York Five.

Serenity Leaves on Wind Hardcover

Serenity Leaves on the Wind Hardcover

Writer: Whedon, Zack

Artist: Jeanty, Georges

Cover Artist: Dos Santos, Dan

From Previews:

In the film Serenity, outlaw Malcolm Reynolds and his crew revealed to the entire ‘verse the crimes against humanity undertaken by the sinister Alliance government. In this official follow-up, circumstances force the crew to come out of hiding, and one of their own is captured, setting them on another mission of rescue and resistance . . . Collects the six-issue miniseries and the 2012 Free Comic Book Day story. o Buffy’s Season 8 and 9 artist conquers the galaxy! o Zack Whedon returns to Serenity! o The story finally continues after the film! ‘Serenity: Leaves on the Wind will leave fans cheering.’-Comic Book Resources

It’s here!  It’s finally here!  The mini-series based on cult hit Firefly continues the story of the Serenity crew as they take down the Alliance.

Penny Dora & The Wishing Box #1

Penny Dora and the Wishing Box 1

Writer: Stock, Michael

Artist: Grace, Sina

Cover Artist: Grace, Sina

From Previews:

Once upon a time, on the day before Christmas, a young girl named Penny Dora found a mysterious box on her front doorstep. A magic box with the power to grant wishes. But what she’s about to learn is the true (and creepy) meaning of ‘be careful what you wish for.’ An all-ages fantasy/adventure book for fans of Coraline and Courtney Crumrin!

I’m always excited about new all-ages comics, especially those geared towards young girls.  Bonus: Pandora’s box mythos!

Elektra Vol. 1: Bloodlines Trade Paperback

Elektra Vol 1

Writer: Blackman, Haden

Artist: Mundo, Mike Del

Cover Artist: Mundo, Mike Del

From Previews:

The beautifully violent return of the world’s deadliest assassin! As Elektra prepares to shed her past and change her future, she braves the dangers of Monster Island – and the psychotic killer Bloody Lips – in her search for the elusive assassin known as Cape Crow! But the hunt becomes murkier when the hit is revealed as more than it seems. This might be one quest for which Elektra is ill-prepared. Will Marvel’s deadliest femme fatale defeat Cape Crow and collect the biggest bounty of her career? Or will she do what she’s never done before – protect the mark, and help the hardened killer and his son escape? Legendary assassins go head-to-head at the edge of the world, but it looks like Elektra’s soul is right at Death’s door. Collecting ELEKTRA (2014) #1-5. Rated T+

Elektra is one of the most beautiful and unique books coming from Marvel.  I love the leaning towards more mature audiences (as far as heaviness of content).

All You Need Is Kill 2 in 1

All You Need is Kill

Writer: Obata, Takeshi

Artist: Obata, Takeshi

Cover Artist: Obata, Takeshi

From Previews:

When the alien Mimics invade, Keiji Kiriya is just one of many recruits shoved into a suit of battle armor called a Jacket and sent out to kill. Keiji dies on the battlefield, only to be reborn each morning to fight and die again and again. On his fifth iteration, he gets a message from a mysterious ally – the female soldier known as the Full Metal Bitch. Is she the key to Keiji’s escape or his final death?

This is the manga based on the original Japanese novel All You Need is Kill, which the movie Edge of Tomorrow / Live. Die. Repeat. was based on.  Yeah, no one understands the importance of keeping everything under one title.  Regardless, the manga adaptation is incredibly faithful to the original novel.  Obata is one the best artists in the manga world, and his work in this series is top-notch.

That’s it for this week’s pull list! If you have any recommendations for comic fans (and non-fans) out there, share them in the comments section!