I’ve always been of the opinion that there’s a great comic book out there for everyone. I love making recommendations to folks – especially new readers – and helping them grow a love for one of America’s unique forms of literature.

So, let me tell you what to read this week.

Lumberjanes #10

Lumberjanes_010_coverA

Writer: Watters, Shannon
Artist: Nowak, Carolyn
Cover Artist: Nowak, Carolyn

From Previews:
The Roanoke cabin is back and they’re ready for something crazy…but Mal wouldn’t mind something normal, soft, and maybe quiet and harmless.

Lumberjanes is a great comic to share with younger readers.  Also, it’s incredibly funny and entertaining for older readers!  It’s also one of the few media examples of women getting along and forming friendships.

Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #8

Sensation Wonder Woman

Writer: Jelenic, Michael
Artist: Johnson, Drew
Cover Artist: Davey, Paul

From Previews:
Hippolyta’s first rule of war is demonstrated in ‘Generations,’ as Diana and Cheetah battle over a phoenix egg – and its promise of immortality! Then Diana and Big Barda fight the awesome menace of robot gorillas in ‘Not Included.’

The main Wonder Woman title leaves something to be desired, but this digital-first comic is stellar.  The diversity of stories – and respect for the character – make this series one to pick up.

The Wicked + The Divine #7

Wicked and Divine 7

Writer: Gillen, Kieron
Artist: McKelvie, Jamie
Cover Artist: Wilson, Matthew

From Previews:
Last year, before The Recurrence, fans gathered from their distant worlds at RAGNAROCK to wonder whether the gods were really about to return or not. Now, as the next RAGNAROCK approaches, everyone knows things are different. What’s more, there are two gods still to emerge. Will anyone there get ‘lucky?’ Look at us whistle, shuffle feet, and avoid eye contact.

One of the best comic series to come out last year, The Wicked + The Divine continues its storytelling dominance in issue 7.  Great for fans of Gillen and McKelvie’s run on Young Avengers and their Phonogram series.

Powers #1

powers

Writer: Bendis, Brian Michael
Artist: Oeming, Michael Avon
Cover Artist: Oeming, Michael Avon

From Previews:
Just in time for the debut of the long-awaited POWERS TV show comes this brand-new number one, a perfect jumping-on point for fans new and old! The Eisner Award-winning POWERS tells the story of homicide detectives Christian Walker and Deena Pilgrim, who are assigned cases specifically involving powers. If a superhero falls dead from the sky or a super villain is found dead in the gutter, it’s up to Walker and Pilgrim to solve the case. But having barely survived the most harrowing case of their careers and discovering government corruption of the highest level, Walker and Pilgrim are now faced with the most difficult decision they’ve ever had to make. Plus: the discovery of a power no one has ever seen before! This issue – double sized for the regular price – will also include an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at the making of the POWERS TV show with never-before-seen pictures from the set.

I’ve never read Powers, but I am a Bendis fan.  Also, with the new Playstation show debuting soon, I definitely want to look into this series.  For folks like me, this is a great opportunity to find out more about the series.

That’s it for this week’s pull list! If you have any recommendations for comic fans (and non-fans) out there, share them in the comments section!